Every once in a while, especially if you have a lot of friends on Facebook, you get the urge to unfriend or unfollow someone, whether because they’re becoming too annoying or they just post a lot. The social media giant is giving you another option, for those people that you don’t really want to unfollow, but you just want to take a quick break from. You can now snooze them for 30 days, and afterward, you get them back on your news feed.
Facebook says this new feature is because they have been receiving feedback that users want more options to see what’s on their news feed. If you have a friend traveling to Japan for the next few weeks and you feel like you’ll die of envy, then you can now just temporarily pause seeing her posts on your feed and then just let her back in after her trip. This applies to not just people but even Pages or Groups as well. Handy when you’re trying to avoid buying anything from your favorite brand while they’re on sale.
Just click on the 3 dots on the right side of a friend’s or group’s or pages’ post and you’ll now see the snooze button. Tap on it and for the next 30 days, you won’t see any of his/her/their posts on your news feed. Don’t worry, they won’t be notified that you’ve snoozed them. And when the Snooze period is about to end, you’ll get a notification, and you can probably extend it if you want. You can also “unSnooze” an account if you’re ready to let them back in.
This new feature is still gradually rolling out to users. If you can’t find it in yours yet, then you just have to bear seeing their posts or unfollow them semi-temporarily. Of course you can always unfriend or unlike them if you want them gone forever from your Facebook.