Snapchat has become more than just the photo sharing app that you use when you feel like being silly or even a little bit daring. The latest move by the brand will eventually make it a legitimate competitor with messaging apps like WhatsApp, Viber, and even Messenger. When you’ve updated your Snapchat app, you will now be able to create a Group Chat so you can send pictures and talk to several people all at the same time.

In fact, you can add up to 16 friends in a single Group Chat. And since this is Snapchat after all, your chats will be deleted after 24 hours. So there will be no evidence left of your drunken conversations from the night before (unless you know, screen capped). The Snaps in your group can only be opened and replayed just once by each member. And they will also be deleted after 24 hours, even if unopened.

In case your chat with one of the people in the group chat should be just between the two of you, just click on the name of that person and you will be taken to a 1:1 conversation called Quick Chat. And if you want to go back to the group chat, you just swipe back to it and you’re back in the game.

The update also brings two new Creative Tools. Scissors lets you take a snip at one of your Snaps so you can turn it into a snicker. The Paintbrush tool meanwhile turns your Snaps in Memories into an artistic piece of work. Snapchat is rolling out this update to users, so you better start creating those Group Chats to see if this is your new form of communication. At least, for 24 hours.

SOURCE: Snap