There are probably one or two people (aside from the original developers, that is) who were genuinely sad when Google announced that their photo sharing and saving service Picasa was going to go away in a few months. Most of us have probably moved on to Google Photos when it was first announced last year. But for those who were still passively using Picasa, the next question would be what do you do with all the photos that you saved there over the years.
Well of course the most obvious answer is to move on to Google Photos. And if you log in there, you’ll see that all your Picasa photos and videos are already be there and you can just go on with your usual life, organizing and tagging and sharing and searching for images there. But if you don’t want to use Google Photos, you will still be able to view and access your pictures and data in the “new place” that Google will create for you. You can still view, download and delete your albums but you can’t create, organize or edit your albums and photos.
But before you start panicking, all these changes are not effective immediately. You can keep using this normally until April 30, 2016. The changes will start happening by May 1, 2016. By March 15, however, your Picasa desktop application will no longer be supported by Google. It will still work as it is, but there will be no more future updates. As far as developers are concerned, Google will also be retiring some functions of the Picasa API.
At most, people who have been using Picasa will feel a bit inconvenienced. But it’s really not a great loss because Google Photos has more functionalities and features. So let’s briefly mourn Picasa and then move on.