PDA

View Full Version : Google Chrome is report Facebook.com as a phishing site



Stanovoy
12-03-2008, 02:57 AM
I just tried to access facebook.com through Chrome, and here's what it told me:


The website at static.ak.fbcdn.net has been reported as a “phishing” site. Phishing sites trick users into disclosing personal or financial information, often by pretending to represent trusted institutions, such as banks.

Not sure what's going on. Firefox can access it just fine, i.e. without triggering its phishing filter.

PCTechNerd
12-03-2008, 03:37 AM
It means that an advertisement on facebook links to a known phishing website. when chrome checks a page, it also checks all possible links on said page. adverts link out, and therefore get checked. a lot of times there are so many different adverts being swapped out that a malicious one gets allowed in once in awhile.

NiGHTS
12-03-2008, 07:07 AM
that or google hates facebook so much now that it doesnt want you going there =p

JRG1392
12-03-2008, 09:43 AM
I use Chrome and I've never had any problems getting to Facebook? It's got to be just an ad that was gone by the time I tried to access it.

Derrick
03-11-2009, 09:56 AM
Yea what is up with Facebook and Google? I read some stuff on the internet and understand a little but still have yet to find just a simple explanation to whats going on.